Skip to content

Busy as a Bee

September 29, 2009

Anyone else slightly obsessed with our sweet little fuzzy friends?  Here are a few images that make me feel as if I lived in a simpler time.

Vintage Honey Bee

Vintage Honey Bee

What is it about bee-keeping that seems calm and trance-like?  Is it the buzzing, the sweet smell?  the slow motion of the bee-keeper?

Pigeon Print Shop - Bee Portrait

Pigeon Print Shop - Bee Portrait

When I was a child my Great-Grandfather (Baba – pronounced Bubba) would take me on long walks into the Eucalyptus groves near my Grandmother’s house.  Somewhere in there we happened upon a Bee Farm – I can still recall the smell of the Eucalyptus and Honey and how the day was warm but not hot.  The air was still and the buzzing was hypnotic.  It is one of my most treasured memories. Bee Catching David Claypool Johnston

Maybe that is where my affinity for Bees comes from? Or maybe it is that their fuzzy little bodies are so charming, with their chic black and yellow coloring and glossy wings?

Cape Cod Bee

Whatever it is they inspire in me the desire to work the land and reap the sweetness from its fruits.  It also makes me want to do a black and yellow dining room… but more on that later.  Here is a last bit o’ honey.

Bee Hive Jewel

Bee Hive Jewel

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 3:31 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. October 2, 2009 3:40 pm

    You know I love bees! The beehive jewel is fabulous.

    Have a great weekend.

    xo,
    cristin

Leave a Reply

