Skip to content

Things I Love….

September 22, 2009
Following are images that I love, some are current some not, they have one thing in common though, they evoke thoughts of beauty and a life extraordinary.
 
 Marie Antoinette (or the idea of her). 
 

 

Divine Intervention

Divine Intervention

Chinoiserie.

 

 

Epitome of the Chinois ideal

Epitome of the Chinois ideal

Genius Photographers.
Harpers Bazaar February 2002 by Patrick Demarchelier

Harpers Bazaar February 2002 by Patrick Demarchelier

         
John Singer Sargent.
Nonchaloir

Nonchaloir

I think I am seeing a pattern here. 

Idyllic Setting

Idyllic Setting

Perhaps a life of beauty and leisure is what I truly crave.   I think that we all wish for that life to some degree or another.  Not neccessarily a lazy life – but one of grace and beautiful moments.

Luckily for me I get to work in a world of beauty and translate my cravings into gorgeous interiors, that other people get to enjoy and take their leisure in.  I suppose there is a nice symmetry to that.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 9:15 am

    John Singer Sargents work always captures my attention. His brush strokes. The way he uses white and blues that read as white in this paintings. Love.

    Now Marie….um….she lost her head. 😉

  2. September 25, 2009 9:06 pm

    Love that little dog statue next to the chair.

    • September 28, 2009 1:53 pm

      Jean, I thought I had responded to this but it appears that it did not post… Anyway, that picture of the dog is my favorite in the whole house! I love him to death!

      Michelle

  3. Lori permalink
    September 26, 2009 7:26 am

    I’m so glad you have a blog. I love your style.

    • September 27, 2009 10:28 pm

      Thanks Lori! Hopefully you will be back to see some more posts and pretty pictures. I plan on also doing some blogs on design boards – hoping to inspire!

  4. December 28, 2009 5:52 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    I came to your site via Apartment Therapy. I see that in addition to chinoiserie, you have a fondness for blackamoor servant figures. What’s your thinking behind / attraction to that? And how do you react to the fact that many people find such imagery highly offensive? Thanks.

    Alexis

    • December 30, 2009 11:31 am

      Hi Alexis, Those lamps belonged to my husbands grandmother, but even if they had no sentimental value I would love them for their beauty. As far as any social statement, I think of them as an homage to a a beautiful and elegant people who stood with grace under horrible oppression.

Leave a Reply

