Skip to content

First Blog: History

August 27, 2009

I am writing this, my first blog, while vacationing in Barnstable, Mass (Cape Cod) with my husband and his family.

FirstBlogHistory_01

MichelleWorkman_001_FirstBlogHistory_02

My ancestors were settled in this area for at least one generation and I thought it appropriate to start there – at the beginning.

FirstBlogHistory_03

This is one of my ancestors John Lothrop.  He was a minister and settled in Barnstable with about 60 of his followers.  Apparently he was a well loved man, known for his patience and humility.

I like to think that I am like my forefathers, the pilgrims – dedicated to hard work and success. Not a lot of adornment, clean classic lines, yet yearning for the new and unexpected; embracing it in fact.

FirstBlogHistory_04

A simple wire basket perfect for red apples on a counter top – but really its beauty is in its simplicity of line.

FirstBlogHistory_05

The same with this lighthouse – bold and stark in color, simple in form, yet incredibly striking.

MichelleWorkman_001_FirstBlogHistory_06

Great design is well rooted in history but with a panache and verve that allows modern and traditional to mix and meld, parry and riposte, with each other.

FirstBlogHistory_07

Here modern and traditional mix together seamlessly.

FirstBlogHistory_08

The lines of the antique wire basket above, repeat in a modern coffee table, painted in a high gloss red.

FirstBlogHistory_09

FirstBlogHistory_11

I think I need to do a house in red, white and blue; add in some black and gray.  I am going to start it with this fantastic fabric from Quadrille,called Independence Toile – maybe I’ll do a design board.  More on that in my next post….

FirstBlogHistory_14

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Angel permalink
    August 27, 2009 9:31 pm

    I love your pictures!

  2. August 28, 2009 10:13 am

    Congratulations on your first post, Michelle! The Independence Toile is a great find. I’m looking forward to reading more.

    • August 28, 2009 3:14 pm

      Thanks Mark!

      I am hoping to do a design board in the very near future with that as the theme – and then blog and photos about it.

      Michelle

  3. August 28, 2009 12:57 pm

    Great first post! I’m a Massachusetts baby too. OK so you asked for feedback…

    1. Don’t center all your text.
    2. In the set up of the blog, can you move the comments button to the bottom of the post? Otherwise your readers have to search too hard for it or scroll back up. We’re lazy readers, don’t make us work. 😉

    Looking forward to more posts!!!

    -Jean

    • August 28, 2009 3:12 pm

      Thanks Jean!

      I will take your advice to heart (not sure if I can move the comment button but will try). My husband was quite happy that you said not to center the text as we had an argument about it right before I posted, and yes, he argued for justified. 😉

      Michelle

  4. September 9, 2009 7:20 pm

    Yeah, you are blogging! Can’t wait for more fabulous posts.

    xo,
    cristin

    Thanks too for adding my blog! I will be adding yours to my blogroll too.

  5. julianne marie boudreaux permalink
    September 26, 2009 3:11 pm

    Wonderful blog !!! Love the pics of the boys!!! I share your passion for chinoiserie!!!! And color and surprises!!!

Leave a Reply

