Skip to content

Defining celebrity.

November 16, 2010

I just had brekkies with my one and only celebrity crush.  Mayer Rus.  You may be asking yourself “who the hell is Mayer Rus?!”  Well Dear Friends, he is the Design and Culture Editor of the LA Times Magazine.  He is better known as the Testy Tastemaker from House and Garden (sadly, shuttered… sob..).

For years I would receive my H&G in the mail and quickly turn to the back to read his column, sometimes I wouldn’t read the rest of the magazine for several weeks but I always read The Testy Tastemaker immediately.  I have worshipped from afar, his turn of phrase, his sense of aesthetic and yes, his humor.  Below is a taste for those of you who are tantalized and a second helping for those of you already in the know.

House and Garden - The Testy Tastemaker

You may be surprised that this is who I would crush on (or more appropriately “stalk”) – when I have had a host of A-list celebrities as clients.  Just as “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”,  celebrity is in the mind of the stalker.  His wit and charm as a writer captivated me from the first reading and this morning much to my ultimate delight I had breakfast with him.  I hope that we can become BFF’s because truly I would hate to have to keep “accidentally” running into him (it might become suspicious).

You can have a bit of him here at his blog for the LA Times Magazine, From Rus with Love – but I better not see you hanging around him, because Dear Friend… he’s MINE!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 2:54 pm

    So happy you got to meet him!

  2. November 17, 2010 10:18 am

    YAY!! Congrats Mami! LOVE when we get to meet the folks who inspire us. SO KEY.

    Love you!! xoxox

  3. November 26, 2010 2:05 pm

    he is hi-lare! i’ve always wanted to meet him, so i’m a bit jealous.

    • December 3, 2010 10:54 pm

      Yay! I love that I made you jealous!!!! Maybe the next time I meet with my BFF I can arrange an introduction… ;)

  4. January 29, 2012 1:07 pm

    tee hee :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

